England tour to India: schedule announced, two Tests including day-night at Motera

The newly constructed Motera Stadium in Ahmedabad (Gujarat) will host the day-night Test match against England from 24 February. This will be the third test of the four-match series.

England tour to India schedule announced

 Thursday that Chennai hosted two other matches of the Test series as part of the rotation policy for the Indian tour of England in February-March (2021) (first Test from 5 February, second Test from 13 February). Is assigned to The three-match ODI series will be played in Pune (23–28 March).

BCCI Secretary Jai Shah on Thursday announced Motera to host the day-night Test during the inauguration of the Indoor Academy of Gujarat Cricket Association. This will be the second match on the Indian soil with the pink ball after the day-night Test against Bangladesh at Eden Gardens last year.

The BCCI said, “Chennai will host the first two Tests of the series, while the other two will be played at the Sardar Patel Motera Stadium in Ahmedabad.”

The board said, ‘Motera is the largest cricket stadium in the world with a capacity of one lakh 10 thousand spectators. After the day-night test, the 5-match T20 International series will also be played in Ahmedabad.

 the last leg of this tour of England, there will be a three-match ODI series, all of which will be played in Pune. According to the statement, “The BCCI has decided to restrict the matches of this tour to three venues in view of the prevailing situation in the country (Kovid-19).”

Shah said, “Both boards (BCCI and ECB) have worked together for an exciting series of competitive matches between the two powerful teams of world cricket.”

England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) Chief Executive Officer Tom Harrison said, “The BCCI has planned to conduct international cricket in a bio-safe environment at three locations Chennai, Ahmedabad and Pune, which makes us happy.”

England tour of India –

Test Series –

First Test: 5 to 9 February: Chennai

Second Test: 13 to 17 February: Chennai

Third Test: 24 to 28 February: Ahmedabad

Fourth Test: 4 to 8 March: Ahmedabad

T20 International Series- 

First T20 International March 12: Ahmedabad

Second T20 International 14 March: Ahmedabad

3rd T20 International March 16: Ahmedabad

4th T20 International March 18: Ahmedabad

Fifth T20 International March 20: Ahmedabad

ODI Series –

First ODI: March 23: Pune

Second ODI: March 26: Pune

Third ODI: March 28: Pune