IPL will have 10 teams from 2022, many more important decisions in BCCI AGM

The participation of 10 teams in the Indian Premier League (IPL) has been approved in the Annual General Assembly Meeting (AGM) of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI).

Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI)

The governing body of the Cricket Board of India (BCCI) on Thursday approved the entry of two new franchises into the Indian Premier League (IPL) during the annual general meeting (AGM) in Ahmedabad, making it a 10-team tournament from 2022.

In another major decision, the BCCI agreed in principle to support the International Cricket Council’s (ICC) bid to include the T20 format of cricket in the 2028 Los Angeles Olympics after some clarification from the International Olympic Committee (IOC).

Two new teams will be inducted from the 2022 IPL,” a board source told PTI. It was also decided that all male and female first-class players would be given suitable compensation in view of the revised domestic season due to the Kovid-19 epidemic.

The BCCI is planning to start the domestic season with the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Championship in January after a delay of several months.